Arkansas: some chimney work needs a state license. Here's what that means.
Researched Jul 2026·Laws as cited·Verified Sep 2026
PUBLIC RECORDAR LAW
Verified with caveats
Our verification pass (Sep 2026) checked the load-bearing claims against primary sources and left these caveats:
no exam or bond claims for the specialty tier; label AAR form item as from a prior edition; CO section says "no statute located" pending recodification check
Arkansas is the South's cleanest CONFIRM of the license⇄disclosure inverse: it has genuinely real contractor licensing — set at an almost-nationally-low $2,000, with the Board literally printing a "Chimneys, Fireplaces" specialty on its application, so everything from a $2,500 crown rebuild to an $8,000 reline requires an ACLB credential, backed by a per-day Class A misdemeanor, $100–400/day civil penalties, and a total payment bar (no contract suit, no quantum meruit) — while on the disclosure side there is nothing at all: no statute, no mandated form, pure caveat emptor, confirmed in writing by the Real Estate Commission, with the only statutory word on disclosure being that murder houses needn't be disclosed. Only the bare $150 sweep escapes the license line.
The short answers
License required?
YES
Home Improvement license over $2,000 (§§ 17-25-505, -513), with a named "Chimneys, Fireplaces"… #license
Exam tests chimney skill?
SEE SECTION
Flagged in the verification caveats — read the section #qualified-gap
Inspection required at sale?
SEE SECTION
Not derivable from the summary row — read the section #home-sale
CO alarm required in your home?
SEE SECTION
no statute located (§ 20-7-138 repealed 2013); code-only IRC R315 for new construction #co-law
Can an unregistered contractor sue you?
NO
Where a license or registration is required, an unlicensed contractor cannot sue to collect #remedies
Short answers are derived mechanically from our verified summary row and section text. Where the text doesn't support a one-word answer, the cell says SEE SECTION instead of guessing.
The story
What makes Arkansas different?
Arkansas is the South's cleanest CONFIRM of the license⇄disclosure inverse: it has genuinely real contractor licensing — set at an almost-nationally-low $2,000, with the Board literally printing a "Chimneys, Fireplaces" specialty on its application, so everything from a $2,500 crown rebuild to an $8,000 reline requires an ACLB credential, backed by a per-day Class A misdemeanor, $100–400/day civil penalties, and a total payment bar (no contract suit, no quantum meruit) — while on the disclosure side there is nothing at all: no statute, no mandated form, pure caveat emptor, confirmed in writing by the Real Estate Commission, with the only statutory word on disclosure being that murder houses needn't be disclosed. Only the bare $150 sweep escapes the license line. That fits the master pattern: a state that regulates the contractor trusts the buyer to fend for herself at closing. The same legislature was the last in America to grant renters an implied warranty of habitability (2021) — still makes tenants solely responsible for their own CO detectors — and quietly repealed its one CO-alarm statute in 2013.
Licensing
Does Arkansas license chimney work?
State licensing and registration
STATE LAW. Two-track regime under Ark. Code Ann. Title 17, Ch. 25, run by the Contractors Licensing Board (commercial, subch. 1–4) and its Residential Contractors Committee (subch. 5), housed in the Department of Labor and Licensing. Commercial trigger is $50,000+ (§ 17-25-103(a)(1)(A)(i), Justia), but the residential track is the one that bites: "A person shall not act as a home improvement contractor after January 1, 2012, unless … Licensed by the committee; or … Exempt" (§ 17-25-505(b), Justia), and the exemption applies only "when the cost of the work done or to be done does not exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000)" — with contract-splitting into sub-$2,000 pieces expressly excluded from the exemption (§ 17-25-513(3), 2025 Code, Justia). "Home improvement contractor" is defined broadly as managing "reconstruction, alteration, renovation, repair, modification, improvement, removal, demolition, or addition" to an existing single-family residence (§ 17-25-502). There is a named tier for this trade: the Board's Home Improvement Specialty application lists "7. Chimneys, Fireplaces" among its specialty classifications (separately from "23. Masonry"), and offers a Limited license that "can ONLY do residential home improvement projects that are less than $50,000" and an Unlimited license for projects of any size; Unlimited applicants must file a compiled financial statement showing positive net worth, and Unlimited licensees with employees must show workers' compensation coverage; $50 non-refundable filing fee (ACLB application, rev. 02/24). Chimney repair, crown work, tuckpointing, and relines over $2,000 are squarely covered. The AG's consumer page repeats the $2,000 rule (arkansasag.gov). Penalties (residential subchapter): failing to procure a required license is a Class A misdemeanor, each day a separate offense (§ 17-25-505(c)), plus committee civil penalties of $100–$400 for each day of violation (§ 17-25-510, Justia). Roofers have their own registration (subch. 6, § 17-25-601 et seq.). Public lookup: http://aclb2.arkansas.gov/clbsearch.php (via labor.arkansas.gov ACLB).
What the credential does not test
By statute the Residential Contractors Committee weighs "experience," "ability," "the manner of performance of previous contracts," and "financial condition" (§ 17-25-507); a written examination is mandated by statute for residential building contractors (§ 17-25-509). Whether, and which, exams the Home Improvement Specialty ("Chimneys, Fireplaces") tier requires is not stated on the application or the Board's apply page — industry guides say the specialty tier has no Business & Law exam, but that is REF only and is not published here. Either way, nothing at any tier tests flue sizing, clearances-to-combustibles, creosote condition classes, or NFPA 211 inspection levels (NATIONAL STANDARD). An Arkansas license proves the Committee accepted your experience and (for Unlimited) your balance sheet — not chimney competence. NCSG/CSIA individual certifications are the only credential that tests the actual work.
At home sale
What does a Arkansas seller have to tell you about the chimney?
Seller disclosure when a home sells
Arkansas has NO seller-disclosure statute — pure caveat emptor. The absence is confirmed on the Real Estate Commission's own site: "Is there a state law in Arkansas that requires every property owner to disclose all aspects of the condition of his or her property when selling that property? The answer is no." (arec.arkansas.gov). Licensed agents must still make reasonable efforts to learn material facts about properties they list or sell. The Arkansas REALTORS® Association's Seller Property Disclosure form is voluntary ("THE USE OF THIS DISCLOSURE FORM IS VOLUNTARY AND IS MADE AVAILABLE BY AAR ONLY FOR USE BY THOSE MEMBERS…"); an undated copy reached this pass lists item 2.i "Chimneys, fireplaces and inserts" (REF-hosted copy: eForms; the current 2023-copyright edition could not be fetched — confirm before quoting the item number). The only disclosure statute on the books is the psychologically-impacted-property carve-out (§ 17-10-101 — homicide/suicide need NOT be disclosed). No mandated inspection at transfer. Buyer inspection contingency is purely contractual — no statutory window.
Your remedies
What can you do if a chimney job in Arkansas goes wrong?
Consumer remedies and cancellation rights
ADTPA, Ark. Code Ann. § 4-88-101 et seq.; prohibited practices at § 4-88-107 (Justia). The private action is narrow: "A person who suffers an actual financial loss as a result of his or her reliance on the use of a practice declared unlawful by this chapter may bring an action to recover his or her actual financial loss proximately caused by the offense," the claimant "must prove individually" that loss and reliance, and "A private class action under this subsection is prohibited unless the claim is being asserted for a violation of Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 89" (§ 4-88-113(f), 2025 Code, Justia; context: Act 986 of 2017, REF Talk Business & Politics). AG enforcement remains the real hammer. Complaints: arkansasag.gov/file-a-complaint. 3-day cancel: Home Solicitation Sales Act — "the buyer has the absolute right to cancel a home solicitation contract or offer until midnight of the third calendar day, excluding Sundays and holidays," § 4-89-107 (Justia; AG explainer: arkansasag.gov); no emergency-work exception appears in that section. And the payment bar for residential/home-improvement work: "A contractor who performs work in violation of this subchapter shall not bring an action: (1) In law or equity to enforce any provision of a contract entered into in violation of this subchapter; or (2) For quantum meruit" — § 17-25-515 (Acts 2011, No. 1208; 2021, No. 1072; Justia). An unlicensed chimney contractor on a job over $2,000 cannot sue you for payment, on the contract or off it. (The commercial-side bar, § 17-25-103(d), now carves out an unjust-enrichment/quantum-meruit path for contractors who pay fines and apply for a license — it does not govern residential work.)
Scam patterns and enforcement
AG lists home-improvement scams among Arkansas's top consumer complaints, flagging storm-chasers and elder-targeting; the AG page itself tells consumers to verify the $2k license line with ACLB at (501) 372-4661 (arkansasag.gov; current scams). Post-disaster alerts are a fixture — e.g., the AG's December 2021 warning after the NE Arkansas tornadoes (REF — Hot Springs Sentinel-Record). No chimney-specific named enforcement action found — name no names.
Permits & codes
Which chimney jobs need a permit in Arkansas?
Permits and building codes
STATE LAW: the Arkansas Fire Prevention Code, 2021 edition (State Fire Marshal) is the statewide mandatory minimum — Vol. I = IFC 2021, Vol. II = IBC 2021, Vol. III = IRC 2021, all with state amendments, effective Jan 1, 2023; local jurisdictions may only amend more stringently (codes.iccsafe.org, DPS foreword). NFPA 211 is a NATIONAL STANDARD referenced through the I-codes, not a standalone AR adoption. Permit enforcement is LOCAL (Little Rock, Fayetteville, Bentonville, etc.): expect building/mechanical permits for relines, insert installs, chimney rebuilds under IRC ch. 10 / IRC M1801; a bare sweep is maintenance — no permit, and arguably not "home improvement" contracting at all.
Solid fuel and environmental rules
No state spark-arrestor or wood-stove rule found beyond AFPC/IRC chimney termination requirements (absence = finding). Burn bans are county-level: county judges declare them under emergency-management authority (Ark. Code Ann. § 12-75-108; violation a Class A misdemeanor) — statewide live map at the Arkansas Department of Agriculture Forestry Division (portal.arkansas.gov burn-ban map). Bans target outdoor burning, not indoor fireplaces. DEQ restricts open yard-waste burning (adeq.state.ar.us). No EPA-style wood-smoke curtailment program.
Carbon monoxide
Is a carbon monoxide alarm required in Arkansas?
Carbon monoxide and smoke alarm law
Arkansas has no standalone CO-alarm statute in force that this pass could locate. The previously cited § 20-7-138 (CO alarms in new homes built after Jan 1, 2012; Acts 2011, No. 146) was repealed by Act 565 of 2013, effective Aug 16, 2013 (Justia, 2024 Code) — whether its substance was re-enacted elsewhere is unconfirmed. What remains: AFPC Vol. III (IRC 2021 R315) carries CO-alarm rules for new construction and permitted alterations (code, not statute). No retrofit mandate for existing homes and no at-sale trigger. Rentals: Arkansas was the last state in the nation with no implied warranty of habitability until Act 1052 of 2021 created bare-bones "implied residential quality standards" (§ 18-17-502, leases after Nov 1, 2021) — and even there, if a battery/plug-in smoke or CO detector is installed, the tenant is "solely responsible" for keeping it working, and the tenant's remedy is lease termination (Act 1052 PDF, Justia § 18-17-502). Enforcement reality: effectively none outside new-construction plan review.
Season calendar
When should you book a chimney sweep in Arkansas?
Rush (national pattern)Best booking (national pattern)
Humid subtropical; Ozark/Ouachita uplands run colder than the Delta. Burn season Oct–early Mar; rush hits late Sept–Dec after the first cold snap; ice-storm damage adds a Jan–Feb repair bump. Best booking window: May–Aug (editorial, consistent with national sweep-industry seasonality).
Across the border
Arkansas vs Missouri: License required
Arkansas
YES
Home Improvement license over $2,000 (§§ 17-25-505, -513), with a named "Chimneys, Fireplaces"…
Missouri
NO
NO state license (no GC/home-improvement statewide) — LOCAL (KCMO Residential Building… Read Missouri
Before anyone goes on your roof
What should you ask a chimney company in Arkansas?
- Is your company a member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild (NCSG)?
- Does the technician coming to my home hold an individual NCSG certification, and which one?
- Does the technician hold a National Fireplace Institute (NFI) certification — and for which fuel: wood, gas, or pellet?
- What other certifications does the technician hold (for example, CSIA), and can I check them on the issuer's own roster?
- What state or local license or registration covers this work here, and what is the number?
- Will you send a certificate of insurance, dated and naming your company, before work starts?
- Which NFPA 211 inspection level — Level 1, 2, or 3 — are you performing, and why that level?
- Will you show me what you found — photos or video of the flue — in writing?
We take no fee from any certification body, guild, or contractor, and are not paid to mention anyone named.
Frequently asked questions about Arkansas chimney law
What should I check before hiring a chimney company in Arkansas?
State licensing: YES — Home Improvement license over $2,000 (§§ 17-25-505, -513), with a named "Chimneys, Fireplaces" specialty (Limited < $50,000 / Unlimited); Class A misd. per day (§ 17-25-505(c)) + $100–400/day civil (§ 17-25-510). Registration or credential: roofers only (separate subch. 6). Seller disclosure at sale: NO — caveat emptor; voluntary AAR form (copy reviewed lists "Chimneys, fireplaces and inserts"). Right to cancel a sale made at your home: see the remedies section. Carbon monoxide alarm law: no statute located (§ 20-7-138 repealed 2013); code-only IRC R315 for new construction. Where to check a contractor: http://aclb2.arkansas.gov/clbsearch.php. Then ask the eight questions below, get the inspection findings in writing with photos, and never sign for "emergency" work on the day of a door-knock.
Answer drawn from: verified summary row (§11). #faq-what-to-do
Is a chimney inspection required when a home sells in Arkansas?
Arkansas has NO seller-disclosure statute — pure caveat emptor. The absence is confirmed on the Real Estate Commission's own site: "Is there a state law in Arkansas that requires every property owner to disclose all aspects of the condition of his or her property when selling that property? The answer is no." (arec.arkansas.gov). Licensed agents must still make reasonable efforts to learn material facts about properties they list or sell.
Answer drawn from: §3 text. #faq-home-sale
Can I cancel a chimney contract I signed at my door in Arkansas?
ADTPA, Ark. Code Ann. § 4-88-101 et seq.; prohibited practices at § 4-88-107 (Justia). The private action is narrow: "A person who suffers an actual financial loss as a result of his or her reliance on the use of a practice declared unlawful by this chapter may bring an action to recover his or her actual financial loss proximately caused by the offense," the claimant "must prove individually" that loss and reliance, and "A private class action under this subsection is prohibited unless the claim is being asserted for a violation of Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 89" (§ 4-88-113(f), 2025 Code, Justia; context: Act 986 of 2017, REF Talk Business & Politics).
Answer drawn from: §4 text. #faq-cancel
How we checked this page
Verification pass — September 2026 · checked 2026-09-15. Items marked STILL OPEN are exactly that.
Show the verification log
Checked 2026-09-15 by verification agent. Laws cited as of Sep 2026.
- ACLB "Chimneys, Fireplaces" Home Improvement Specialty tier: RESOLVED (existence/limits) — specialty #7 "Chimneys, Fireplaces"; Limited license "can ONLY do residential home improvement projects that are less than $50,000," Unlimited any size; Unlimited needs compiled financial statement with positive net worth; $50 filing fee — https://www.labor.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/New-App_Home-Improvement_0224.pdf — DOC
- "No Business & Law exam" for the specialty tier: STILL OPEN — not stated on application or ACLB apply page (https://labor.arkansas.gov/licensing/arkansas-contractors-licensing-board/apply-for-contractors-license-registration/); § 17-25-509 mandates a written exam for residential building contractors only by its terms; REF-only claim removed from the file — GOV/DOC
- "$10,000 surety bond": CORRECTED (removed) — no bond on the Home Improvement application; no primary support found — DOC
- $2,000 threshold + anti-splitting: RESOLVED — § 17-25-513(3), 2025 Code — https://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/title-17/subtitle-2/chapter-25/subchapter-5/section-17-25-513/ — GOV (mirror)
- Penalty citations: CORRECTED — residential penalties are § 17-25-505(c) (Class A misd., each day) and § 17-25-510 ($100–$400/day); the file had cited commercial § 17-25-103(a)(2)/(e) and its 3% cap — GOV (mirror)
- Payment bar: CORRECTED — residential bar is § 17-25-515 (no contract action, no quantum meruit); § 17-25-103(d) (cited before) now allows commercial contractors unjust-enrichment/quantum meruit after paying fines — https://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/title-17/subtitle-2/chapter-25/subchapter-5/section-17-25-515/ — GOV (mirror)
- ARA/AAR seller form chimney line: RESOLVED WITH CAVEAT — voluntary AAR form copy item 2.i "Chimneys, fireplaces and inserts"; copy undated, hosted by eForms — https://eforms.com/images/2018/07/Arkansas-Sellers-Property-Disclosure-Form.pdf — REF (copy of DOC); current edition STILL OPEN
- No disclosure statute: RESOLVED — AREC: "The answer is no." — https://arec.arkansas.gov/news_post/is-property-condition-disclosure-required-by-law/ — GOV
- § 4-88-113(f): RESOLVED — actual financial loss + reliance, class action bar (Amendment 89 exception) — GOV (mirror)
- § 4-89-107 3-day cancel: RESOLVED — third calendar day excl. Sundays/holidays; no emergency exception in section — GOV (mirror)
- CO law § 20-7-138: CORRECTED — repealed by Act 565 of 2013 eff. 8/16/2013; file said it was in force — https://law.justia.com/codes/arkansas/title-20/subtitle-2/chapter-7/subchapter-1/section-20-7-138/ — GOV (mirror); recodification STILL OPEN
- Inspection-window "~10 days" custom: CORRECTED (removed) — no statutory window; unverified custom dropped.
- Template leakage: none found.